top of page

Drive-Through Faith

This morning I read another chapter in Leigh Ann Thomas' new release Smack-Dab in the Midlife Zone. God used her words in Breaking a Sweat to show me how I've allowed my prayer life to become more like a text than a letter. In Leigh Ann's words, praying-on-the-go.


I pictured myself in God's drive-through lane.


"I'm on my way to work, Lord. Can I please have strength and wisdom for the day? Super-size that please. No, no thank you. I don't have time to add an hour to sit with You. You see, I have a lot waiting for me at work. You know--Your work. Kids camp is over and I'm way behind on Vacation Bible School.


Maybe if You would give me a side of time management I'll do better tomorrow. That's the plan. I will get out of bed earlier tomorrow. I know, I know. You woke me at 4:30 this morning. But by the time I made coffee, let the dogs out, and checked my e-mail … well, time just flies.


Perhaps if You put some extra forgiveness in with this order I won't feel so guilty for allowing all the good stuff in my life to get in the way of the best stuff."


I am weak and busy and self-reliant and a slow learner. Because I seem to do this over and over and over again.


That drive-through lane makes me spiritually sluggish and emotionally spent. I know this all too well.



Dear Father, please forgive me for allowing busyness with good things to get in the way of the best. I've stepped back from time with You because I am carrying my burdens and trying to figure it out on my own. Why do I think it will be productive this time when it has never been good in the past? I love you, Lord. And I love the way You love me. I want to be like the tree planted by streams of water (Psalm 1:3). I want roots that reach down deep with leaves that do not whither. I want to bear fruit in season. I'll not wait for tomorrow to sit awhile with you.


You alone are LORD.


65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page