top of page

Get Up!

I have had the pleasure of visiting Israel. I can close my eyes and see my favorite places. The Mount of Beatitudes, Garden of Gethsemane, Nazareth Village ...


One such place for me was the Pools of Bethesda. You might recall, in John chapter 5, we read about a man who had been sick for 38 years. He stayed near the pool, waiting for the waters to stir because the first person to get in the water when it stirred was healed of his ailment. This man was paralyzed and didn't have help getting to the water. Someone always got in before he could get there.


Jesus said to him, "Do you want to get well?" After the man explained his dilemma, Jesus said, "Get up, pick up your bedroll and walk!"


Instantly the man got well, picked up his bedroll, and started to walk.


Jesus' earthly ministry was marked by powerful miracles and powerful teaching. Scriptures inform us He was moved by emotion and He wept (Luke 19, John 11), He was angered (Mark 3, John 2), He felt compassion for people (Matthew 9), and He told the people not to let their hearts be troubled (John 14).


Jesus taught us how to pray (Matthew 6), showed us The Father (John 14), and gave us the example of loving one another (John 15).


I stood above the remains of the Pools of Bethesda and listened as my husband read John 5. I could imagine it as the story unfolded just as John describes. As I looked and listened, I thought of people I love in need of healing. Broken hearts, broken marriages, physical illness, emotional scars, and spiritual blindness.


I began to silently cry out and wish for a moment in time near the Pools of Bethesda as the Savior passed by. As my heart begged for healing, the Holy Spirit whispered Hebrews 8- "Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever" and Matthew 11- "Come unto me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest."


As a cool breeze brushed over my face, I was reminded of His healing power and His love so great that we cannot comprehend it.


I do not understand the why's and how's of God's work, but I do believe His word and His promises.


As you go through the trials of life, GET UP and strive to know Him better. GET UP and love Him more. GET UP and cling to your faith in His ability to take care of you, even when you do not see how He can possibly unravel the mess before you.


As you rise each morning and lay your head down to rest each night, say along with the Psalmist "I am resolved to obey Your statutes to the very end." (Psalm 119:112)


Do you want to get well? Get up!

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page