top of page

Loving without Lines

This morning I sit and look at graduation pictures of my 4 amazing children.

A lifetime has passed, it seems, since high school days.


And my prayer list grows.


I look at their pictures and I imagine the faces of the people they love, the people they have added to our family, and I often feel overwhelmed with gratitude for each one ... and my prayer list grows.


I learned from Tommy's parents how to love without lines. There is no defining line between my kids and the loves they have added to this family. We now have 4 sons and 4 daughters.


And my prayer list grows.


I see more faces. I see the faces of 4 beautiful grandchildren.


And my prayer list grows.


Sometimes, fear tries to creep into my prayers. The anxiety producing what ifs. Yes, even as I pray, worry tries to steal the joy brought into my life by these faces.

This morning, as I prayed for my children, those what if's tried once again to squelch my words.


And Psalm 139 sent peace and calm as I reminded myself of something you might need to be reminded of as well.

God knows my children (and yours) from the smallest cell in their bodies to the number of hairs on their heads to the thoughts they share with no one.

He knows their fears, hopes, dreams.

He knows their faults, failures and shortcomings.

He knows what makes them laugh and what makes them cry.

He knows.

He knows.

He knows and He loves them. God's love for the people I love is greater and more complete and more powerful than I can even imagine.


What a wonderfully safe place for me to rest my heart! For even as my prayer list grows, He has already gone before me.

While my knowledge is limited, for Him there is no what if.


I will praise Him for a long prayer list, for the precious faces of my 8 children and 4 grandchildren. I will praise Him for His grand love for each one.

I will continue to pray for each one and trust the One who knows them best and loves them most.

I will thank Him for a prayer list that grows.


After all, He is the author of love without lines.




69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page